Theme Based Learning Guide

By Jane Caughey (Dip T. B.Ed. Grad Dip Ed)

This guide has been compiled to assist teachers with integrating the Ziptales online stories and activities into classroom reading programs using a theme-based learning approach. It offers twenty-four pre-planned units of work based around popular classroom themes, each providing a list of relevant Ziptales stories for students to read and related literacy activities for each story. In addition to these planned activities, assessment ideas have been provided for each unit of work covering the main literacy areas.

It is vital for teachers to understand the Ziptales 10 stage Reading Scheme, which governs how reading groups can be formed in a way which matches children’s abilities to the appropriate texts. To check on this essential resource - click here.

The 10 Zip Stages cover all levels of reading ability, from Foundation/Prep/Kindergarten through to Year 6. This scheme underpins the whole Themes module.

Benefits of using the Ziptales thematic planners:


The Themes:

Copyright 2023 Ziptales. Privacy - Terms.

Don't have an account? Click here for a free trial...

Welcome to Ziptales!

Action Required: As this is the first time logging in and because this account is for your ENTIRE school, we ask that you add your fellow teachers and staff to your account here.